Bishops to the Defence Force - Past and Present

Movers Sauer, A.

That General Synod welcomes the Report of the Defence Force Board and affirms the ministry of the Anglican Church to members of the Australian Defence Force, especially through its military chaplains.

Further, Synod:
a) notes the passing of the Third Bishop to the Defence Force (1994-2001), the Right Reverend Brian Franklin Vernon King, and gives thanks to God for his dedicated ministry whilst responsible for a large episcopal region;

b) expresses its gratitude to God for the ministry of the Fourth Bishop to the Defence Force (2001-2006), the Right Reverend Dr Thomas Robert Frome, the first person to hold this position fulltime, who served untiringly and who introduced many initiatives which will continue to enrich this special ministry of our Church; and

c) welcomes the appointment, consecration and installation of the Right Reverend Leonard Sidney Eacott AM, as the Fifth Bishop and assures him of its prayers and encouragement as he commences this ministry.

Mr Allan Sauer moved, The Venerable Dr David Powys seconding, 25 Oct 07

Resolution year: 2007
Resolution number: 104/07