Motion of Thanks

Movers Carrig, H.

That this Synod thank:
1. The President, Archbishop Peter Carnely, The Chaplain to the Primate, Revd Sean Mullen, the Chair of Committees, the Hon Justice David Bleby, Deputy Chair of Committees, the Hon Mr Justice Peter Young, the Clerical Secretary, Canon Barry Greaves, the trainee clerical secretary, The Revd Chris Moroney, the Lay Secretary, Mrs Ann Skamp;
2. The Diocese of Brisbane, the members of the Brisbane Planning Group – Mrs Lyn Comben, Mrs Marilyn Oulds, Revd Canon Barry Greaves, Mr Neil Crisp, Mrs Angela Whitaker, Mr Paul Osborne, The Very Revd David Thomas, Mr Ian Walker, Mr Bernard Yorke, Mrs Katie Williams, and Mr Tarin Moore, which group appreciated the significant contribution of Mr John Pocknell and The Revd Dr Bruce Kaye,
3. Volunteers from schools, parishes, colleges, diocesan organisations and parishioners in the Diocese of Brisbane, the St John’s Cathedral Staff, the Royal School of Church Music, Anglicare and the Carlton Crest Hotel all made a significant contribution to the success of General Synod,
4. Generous sponsorship received from: EIG Ansvar, Anglican Development Investment Fund, Metropolitan Funerals, Anglican Church Master Superannuation Fund, Deacons, Castlemaine Perkins Pty Ltd, Anglican Superannuation Australia.
In particular we want to commend the staff of the Anglican Church Office in Brisbane who have kindly and willingly assisted with arrangements, and the Diocese of Brisbane for absorbing most of the day to day organisational costs.
We thank the media for their courtesy, cooperation and interest and the media officers drawn from several dioceses, and the General Synod Liaison Officer Paul Osborne, and our ecumenical guests for being with us.
Finally we thank the staff of General Synod: Ms Sylvia Murphy, Mrs Judi Long, Mr John Pocknall and The Revd Dr Bruce Kaye.
Mrs H Carrig moved, Bishop P Huggins seconding
Carried 27/07/01

Resolution year: 2001
Resolution number: 55/01