Episcopal Standards Board

The Episcopal Standards Board determines questions relating to the conduct of a bishop referred to it by the Episcopal Standards Commission. The Board may direct outcomes ranging from an order that the bishop be counselled to the bishop being deposed from holy orders.

The Board is convened as required from a panel of members elected by the General Synod.

The Episcopal Standards Board is governed by a number of Canons of the General Synod:

Episcopal Standards Canon 2007
Episcopal Standards (Child Protection) Canon 2017
Special Tribunal Canon 2007 – amended 2017
Offences Canon 1962 – amended 2017


Episcopal Standards Commission report on Roger Herft

The Episcopal Standards Commission has provided a report to the Board, referring questions relating to the conduct of Roger Herft while serving as Bishop of Newcastle.

The Episcopal Standards Board convened to consider this report is:

Mr Peter Dunning SC – Deputy President
The Right Reverend Ian Coutts
The Right Reverend William Ray
Mrs Vivien Bleby
Ms Michelle England

A hearing into the matter is scheduled for Tuesday 21 September 2021 AEST


Australian Disputes Centre
Level 16, 1 Castlereagh Street, Sydney

The hearing will be conducted in person.

Media and members of the public are able to attend the hearing under conditions similar to attending a public gallery in a court or tribunal. No recording of the hearing proceedings is allowed.


The Secretary of the Episcopal Standards Board can be contacted by email at generalsecretary@anglican.org.au.